Latest News

Congratulations to Dr. Gaurav Budhrani on the publication of his chapter on ECMO and Ventricular Assist Devices in the ICU Pocket Book.

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Garcia on being nominated for his ground breaking research and his efforts to go above and beyond in advancing his field. The Emory SOM recognitions committee will be sending out information about him and the other nominees over the next month, and awards will be given at Researcher Appreciation Day, September 6.

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Garcia who’s work in the neuroanesthesia lab he has been doing with researchers in biology and molecular biology was featured in Emory news! Check it out here.

Congratulations to Dr. Grant Lynde for acceptance of his manuscript entitled "A Survey of Haitian Attitudes Towards Informed Consent" for publication in the Clinical Ethics

Congratulations to Dr. McKenzie Hollon on acceptance of two of her cases for medically challenging case presentation at the 2017 ASA meeting"Anesthetic Preparation and Considerations in Pulmonary Echinococcus," prepared with Lauren Guenther, and "Management of Inadvertent Pleural Catheter Placement into the Left Ventricle," prepared with Ben Whitehouse

Congratulations to Dr. Craig Jabaley for being one of the co-authors of the article Low End-Tidal Carbon Dioxide at the Onset of Emergent Trauma Surgery Is Associated With Nonsurvival: A Case Series published in Anesthesia & Analgesia.

Congratulations to Dr. Gaurav Patel for his invitation to serve as a full voting member of the Emory School of Medicine Admissions Committee.

Congratulations to Dr. Blum for his election to the SOCCA Board of Directors!

Congratulations to Dr. Glas for her selection as co-chair of the new Education/Service FCAP committee!

Faculty Spotlight

Congratulations to Dr. Vikas O'Reilly-Shah on publication of his article, Factors influencing healthcare provider respondent fatigue answering a globally administered in-app survey, in PeerJ.

Congratulations to Drs. Robert Groff and James Blum on the publication of their editorial regarding the use of sevoflurane for ICU sedation in the most recent issue of Critical Care Medicine.

Congratulations to Drs. Vikas O’Reilly-Shah, Craig JabaleyGrant C. Lynde and Katherine Monroe on publication of their letter to the editor, Opportunities and Limitations in Mobile Technology, in Anesthesia & Analgesia.

Congratulations to Lyndsay Head, MD, Anesthesia, honored as EJCH's Physician of the Month for July! Her colleagues write, "Although Dr. Head is a recent addition to our Anesthesia staff, she has made a big impact. She is patient-focused, kind and compassionate. She is especially helpful in the ICU and Endoscopy. We are grateful to have someone of her caliber serving our patients." Thank you, Dr. Head, for your commitment to quality and excellence!

Congratulations to Dr. Vikas O’Reilly-Shah on his appointment to the 2018 ASA Committee on Electronic Media and Information Technology.

Congratulations to Dr. McKenzie-Brown for a publication of her release on the opioid epidemic report in Emory News Center.

Congratulations to Courtney Elder, MD and Cara Iorianni, MD for their recent election to GSA leadership positions. Dr. Elder is Vice President of the resident section, and Dr. Iorianni is resident liaison. 

Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Klopman for being selected to serve on the ASA Committee on Trauma and Emergency Preparedness for the 2018 Governance Year.