Letter from Chair


Dear friends and colleagues,

Thank you all for the warm welcome as the Interim Chair of Anesthesiology. It is a great privilege to guide our department into the near future as we continue to build on the excellent foundations developed under our prior leadership. My goal over the next months is to continue our upward trajectory and recruit additional excellent faculty into our ever-expanding clinical practice settings. 

The department has been honored with outstanding leadership. Over the past 60 years former chairs John E. Steinhaus, John L. Waller, and James R. Zaidan, along with departmental leaders such as E. L. Fredeickson and Carl C. Hug, dozens of faculty members, and hundreds of residents and fellows have shaped the residency and fellowship program into one of the strongest anesthesiology programs in the nation. Now we say good bye and best of luck to Dr. Hill as she moves to the Big Apple and is added to the list of individuals who shaped the history of Emory. 

Our resident education program is blossoming under the expert leadership of Dr. Julie Williamson as we continue to meet the needs of modern health care. We offer simulation programs in advanced clinical skills, echocardiography training, team training in crisis resource management, and opportunities in global health practice. With advanced research training and mentoring, our students become outstanding clinical scientists.

Faculty members are conducting leading-edge research in neurophysiology, pain, sleep, imaging, stroke, electrophysiology, and other important areas.

Warm regards,

Kathryn E Glas
Interim Chair
Department of Anesthesiology